Perfect Moment 

Today I was at the Cubs game and my daughter and me were watching the game together.  She’s 4 and was asking questions about what was going on.  She was laying back on my lap and looked up at me.  She says, I love you daddy!!!  It was the perfect moment.  I’ve heard of people being brought tears because of that in the past but never fully understood it. 

Tears covered my eyes and all I could do was smile uncontrollably.  Immediately the gratitude and the hard work of the past 7 months came to mind.  I’m deeply grateful for having the ability to have this relationship with my daughter.  I thank my ex wife for never taking her away from me even when things were rocky between us.  I also realized these small moments make all that I’ve done and been through worth it.  It truly was the most peaceful moment I’ve ever had.  

I look forward to continuing to do what I do now.  Take each day at a time and control what I can control.  If I’m grateful to experience one of these moments again in the future then great but I’m truly content having that one moment permanently embedded in my memory.  

Author: msoc14

I'm a highly motivated individual looking for new ideas and explore what my life has to offer me in the future.

Leave a Reply

