Happy Fathers Day To… Me

So I’ve been trying to get out of this funk all day.  I got to spend the day with my daughter which is great of course.  But, all day, something was missing.  It’s my first Father’s Day without my ex wife with us.  It’s hard to not notice and realize that this is my new norm.  It also was hard no one said happy Father’s Day to me outside of just a small group like 4 people.  Not one of her family, not one of my friends or her friends.

I’ve been pretty happy lately overall and working to keep not too high not too low.  But, days like today are there to humble me to remind me much work is left to be done to heal and move forward.  Without the work, these days will stay the same.  With out the work, I’ll never progress instead I’ll regress.  It’s fine I know it will be.  I’m content with being sad.  I’m learning to handle the sadness and enjoy the moments with my daughter.  One day, I look forward to my daughter seeing in my actions how to handle hard situations and truly be a good adult.  I will be there someday until then I’m sad.  

Author: msoc14

I'm a highly motivated individual looking for new ideas and explore what my life has to offer me in the future.

Leave a Reply

