Gratitude 

I use to look at gratitude a lot different before I came to AA.  I’ve always been grateful for my family friends wife daughter the usual.  But, never showed it.  I didn’t show them how much I care.  I didn’t take the time to make them feel the love and happiness they give me.  Two examples, one involving my ex-wife and one my daughter.  

With my ex-wife I just sent her a message saying I’m truly grateful for her and raising our daughter together.  I meant it.  I really did.  I didn’t do it anymore then just to let her know that’s all and it felt good.  

My daughter.  I was exhausted today I started work at 5 today and it was non stop all day.  But, when I picked her up.  I stayed in the moment.  Of course we had to play a game where a bear was chasing us.  Of course that involved me fitting in small tunnels at the playground that I was really having a hard time doing because I’m sore from working out.  But, it was all worth it.  There is nothing I want more then to be in pain doing that with her.  

I’d say I’m beginning to truly understand this program.  Never will fully understand but I will always progress and learn more as I go.  

Author: msoc14

I'm a highly motivated individual looking for new ideas and explore what my life has to offer me in the future.

Leave a Reply

