Stay In The Moment 

So I’m gonna talk about my day with my daughter.  It was perfect day.  It had instances for lessons and a lot of time for fun.  Now, when I picked her up from the bus today our day did not start off so smoothly.  She wouldn’t listen, she was fighting me on anything I said.  In the past, this would have ruined the rest of our time.  I would’ve never regrouped or taken a different approach to get her listening.  

Today was different.  I’ve been looking forward to seeing her all day and taking her to the petting zoo and chuckie cheese.  So, I took a step back, thought about it some.  Maybe I was coming on too strong or strict?  Maybe I wasn’t showing my love so she was turned off?  Maybe how tired I was shining through.  I took a breath, focused on these areas changed my attitude and over the next hour, surprise new kid!!!  She started listening enjoying spending time Me.  We went to the zoo.  We went to chuckie cheese and had a blast.  

So the lesson, stay in the moment.  Don’t let 15-30 minutes ruin your day.  You have all the control in how you act.  I’m very aware of this when I’m with my daughter especially since her mom and I are getting divorced.  I want to enjoy our time.  I want to be a positive influence in her life.  I want her to look up to me.  Now, don’t get me wrong I’m not all play.  Yes, there is a time to discipline and parent.  But, it’s all how you say it or convey it.  I find the more positive and firm I am the more she listens. I think the proudest change I’ve made in my life is staying in the moment… especially during time with my daughter.  She means everything to me.  I’m so excited to watch the wonderful person she will become.  I’m blessed to have that.  

Author: msoc14

I'm a highly motivated individual looking for new ideas and explore what my life has to offer me in the future.

Leave a Reply

