The beginning 

I figured I should start my story at the beginning.  I’m a 35 year married man with a 3 year old daughter.  

Around 3 months ago, I came to a crossroads in life.  I’m not ready to disclose all the details yet but here is what I will say.  I believe all people have a moment in their life that they can either give up or decide to fight.  Fight for the life they want or believe they deserve.  Seek the happiness of their inner self that they always knew wasn’t there but didn’t have the courage to admit or face.  

I’m proud to admit I’m a recovering alcoholic that has found there is more to life then a drink or instant gratification.  I’m only 83 days in so I know I have a long way to go and I will have a lot of boulders that will get in my way.  But, for the first time I’m confident to say I look forward to the challenge.  I know I can handle it and believe the character you build during the dark times will get you through.  

So the point of my blog, the point is to document and show my progress in my life goals.  I outlined them 83 days ago when I started AA.  They are as follows:

1)Follow my AA program (the rest of my goals i can’t achieve I have discovered if I do drink)

2)Get myself healthy and develop a healthy lifestyle 

-When I started 83 days ago, I weighed 220 well overweight.  I’m happy to report I weigh 189 today.  My goal is to get down to 170 and know I can do it

3)Find inner self happiness.  This includes developing true friendships and confidence in myself to strive for my dreams

4)Stop talking about making changes in my life show my wife the changes.  Be a man and show her the life I’ve always dreamed of us having.  (I placed this one at #4 not that it’s not important, but because I know I can’t achieve it unless I achieve 1-3.)

So I will end my first post with this, I’m a different person then I was 83 days ago, but know I need to stay the course.  I’ve already been humbled along this short journey that has kept me on point.  I plan on sharing more about my life and challenges along the way.  Not to boast or for a pity party but in the hope that someone might learn from my mistakes.  Or take a little from my experience to help them with their life.  

Author: msoc14

I'm a highly motivated individual looking for new ideas and explore what my life has to offer me in the future.

Leave a Reply

